Coach Lanier: Bone 'the most natural point guard we have'

kamoshika

"There's definitely a difference from last year. We went from a situation where we asked (departed senior) Kevin Punter basically to play a position that was foreign to him--and he did it admirably--to a situation this year where we've got two guys who play the position by trade and another who is a good combo-guard type who has some point guard skills. So we basically have three people who play the position, where last year we were asking one person to do it almost out-of-character.

"When you have (more natural options) at the point-guard position, other guys can play to their natural strengths. It kind of trickles down to the rest of the team when you have someone who is natural at the position. I would say the most natural point guard we have is Jordan Bone. Jordan does play the game with a pass-first mentality. He's the kind of player who, as he grows and develops, he'll be that guy that other guys really enjoy playing with because they know he's going to get them the ball. He's got the speed, athleticism and instincts that translate to the SEC level. So it's just a matter of experience for him, and just adapting to the competitive level that he's going to face. But we're excited about what we've seen from him."

Vol Hoops Report: Sept 30 - University of Tennessee Official Athletic Site

Reactions: 3 people
So he didn't say explicitly which is the combo guard. Is he suggesting that Kwe is the combo and Lamonte (and Bone) are the two point guards "by trade" ?

That article was poorly written and the format was weird. There was a second column to the right. (Not scolding down) When you get to what looks like a new subject look to the right column.