Actually if you are referring to the 1.1 they took off at the end it was the right call. The ball was touched in bounds and bounced high. The ball is not officially called dead until it touches something that is out of bounds.
Well, I didn't get the time thing, plus I thought Law was slightly grabbed on his layup - was it as much contact as A&M had on the foul on Anderson? Hmmm. But bottom line is that A&M couldn't grab a rebound when it counted - Memphis had about 4 off. rebounds on that last possession!
The only explanation is what Greg Gumbel just said . . . that the ball bounced on the court and the clock wouldn't have stopped until the ball actually hit out of bounds. It might not be as bad a call as it appeared.
Yeah... Basically a TAMU player threw the inbounds pass at 3.1 seconds, which got touched by a Memphis player and immediately bounced out of bounds. Couldn't have possibly been longer than .2 seconds, I think .1 would have been the best call. But they took 1.1 seconds off the clock, which is roughly the amount of extra time TAMU could have used in moving the ball in position for a better shot.
That was some horrid judgement, but TAMU still failed to grab the rebound in between 45,000 straight Memphis misses. TAMU lost the game at that point, that call probably just robbed them of any chance to win it back.
Disagree. It looked like the ball, after being deflected, bounced first inbounds before landing out of bounds. Thus, the time would start at 3.1 seconds and wouldn't stop until the ball hit after getting a complete bounce.