My childhood sports heroes

ssvol7

Ks to Ws
I've been a Vol fan for a month and a half now. That being said, up until mid July I was a huge Auburn fan. I still pull for the tigers but you can bet your bottom dollar there will be no blue running with my orange come November 9th.

I got to thinking about my childhood heroes the other day and realized that despite being an Auburn fan, I idolized a few former Vols. This list is pretty current considering I'm pretty new to planet Earth compared to most of the folks on this board. So without any further ado, here's my top five.

5. Junior Rosegreen - Auburn Safety
Junior was a beast. I remember watching the AU vs. UT game in 04, Junior accounted for FIVE turnovers in that game. He had the INT that sealed the win in the AU vs LSU game that year. He also had a hit against UGA that knocked UGA's Reggie Brown unconscious.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C0Y9wt3XkHo

52071760_display_image.jpg

4. Randy Johnson - Arizona Diamondbacks Pitcher

The Big Unit was the man. As a lefty, I tried to model my pitching style after his. I used to peer over my glove at the batter, and cover my entire face except for my eyes. He missed bats, got Ks, and drove batters insane. Exactly the things I enjoy doing today :). He also made a bird disappear with a fastball

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KxEUW3pQX6A

Randy-Johnson-Seattle-Mariners.jpg

3. Peyton Manning - Indianapolis Colts Quarterback

Peyton knows football. I remember watching him call his audibles at the line of scrimmage and thinking "This guy could coach the team and play quarterback at the same time." The fact that he was directly responsible for three Bama beat downs helped a little too.

peyton-manning.jpg

2. Carnell "Cadillac" Williams - Auburn Running Back

My favorite Auburn player of all time. He was quick and agile, but could run over a defender if need be. He won rookie of the year in the NFL and set all kinds of rookie records.