Beginner's Compound Bow Help

gatorhater5

Senior VFL
I am thinking about getting into shooting a compound bow for fun. I doubt that I will ever go hunting but I am interested in target shooting.

I've never shot a bow before. Any suggestions for a good beginner's bow? My price range is in the $350 ballpark.

I'm no archery expert by if I were in your position I'd look hard at the Diamond Infinite Edge.

I am thinking about getting into shooting a compound bow for fun. I doubt that I will ever go hunting but I am interested in target shooting.

I've never shot a bow before. Any suggestions for a good beginner's bow? My price range is in the $350 ballpark.

Check out Craigslist for sure. I buy a new bow every couple years and when I sell mine I lose my butt on them. They don't hold value like guns IMO. Just search anything by Hoyt or Matthews you'll be able to get one in that range if you try now. Bow season will be starting soon and they will skyrocket. Another suggestion buy a good target and release. If your arrows blow through a cheap target you'll go through fletchings like crazy. One option also if your close to one is to go use Gander Mountains bow range. I think its like 4 dollars. They have good targets and it'll help being in an controlled enviourment. Good luck

If you just want to do it for fun get a recurve.

That's just my opinion if you are getting into for the fun of it.

Recurve. Modern bows just take any challenge out of it

No release either just use your fingers

Reactions: 2 people
I've shot recurves and compounds for almost 20 years. If you have never shot before, go to a shop. Let them set you up with a bow that is the proper draw length if you go the compound route. Just know $350 doesn't go far once you consider bow, arrows, rest, sights, peep, and so on. My arrows alone are $140/dozen.

PSE Stinger

Can't go wrong with bow tech or matthews, but you won't buy a new model for $350.